Hello from new member...

New to the forum? Tell us a little about yourself and what you collect here.
phasers-on-fun
Erratic Ensign
Erratic Ensign

Hello from new member...

Post by phasers-on-fun »

Hello,

I am new to these forums, having joined a few days ago. I have spent several days perusing the forums to better understand the social climate and content flow.

I am autistic. This means I am extremely literal.

My wife insists that I need a hobby to occupy my time, stimulate my brain, and to help maintain my dexterity and motor skills. Since I have always loved models and model building, this hobby seems a natural choice, and so I am re-entering the hobby after a long hiatus of nearly 10 years.

I am a mediocre model builder at best. I have never built any science fiction kits. There was a time in my modeling life when accuracy was paramount. I found that this pursuit of perfection diminished my enjoyment of the hobby, and I believe it ultimately is what led to my hiatus.

Though I have a three-foot tall stormtrooper on my office desk (named Stewie), I have always been "a Star Trek guy," and so I plan to build models from this storied franchise. I'd like to produce representative examples of my favorite subjects focusing on solid modeling fundamentals (clean, professional-looking builds) rather than obsessing on the small details... I want to enjoy the hobby more this time around.

Before posting here, I will certainly look for answers to my inquiries on these forums, but in the case of topic duplication, I ask for patience. I have a good knowledge of a broad range of modeling techniques, but knowledge is not practice, and there are some areas I still find unclear or have not tried.

I have seen some beautiful models on this site. I am looking forward to getting to know everyone.

Robert
Jolan tru...
Tesral
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Hello from new member...

Post by Tesral »

Welcome to the site.