StarTrek.com TOS Enterprise Colours

Manufacturers, retailers and general resources.
patrickivan
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

StarTrek.com TOS Enterprise Colours

Post by patrickivan »

Did anyone else catch this? I did a quick look and didn't see any posts. Granted, it is 0518H

https://www.startrek.com/article/reveali ... enterprise
Moongrim
Fatidical Fleet Admiral
Fatidical Fleet Admiral

Re: StarTrek.com TOS Enterprise Colours

Post by Moongrim »

And where are these paint colors available commercially?
There are Times, Sir, when men of good Conscience cannot blindly follow orders. You acknowledge their sentience, but ignore their personal liberties and freedoms. Order a man to hand over his child to the state? Not while I"m captain.
- J.L.Picard.
patrickivan
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Post by patrickivan »

I'm no paint expert guy, but I assume that paint places can mix these up based on the provided colour values and information.

I bet for a heft little price.

But it's FOR THE ENTERPRISE, man!

I'm sure I'm not engaging in hyperbole when I say there is no worthier cause on the entire planet. ;)
MSgtUSAFRet
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Post by MSgtUSAFRet »

Why did they use THAT color scheme?

What is the LAB Schema?

" They are based on the nonproprietary L A B color space, which includes all perceptible colors. The LAB color space identifies colors through precise measures on three axes, in this case L (lightness), A (red-green), and B (yellow-blue)." says the article.

So, it's not like I can take these to the local home hobby store and hand it to the paint counter guy and ask "I would like a 15 gallon bucket of this for my 11 foot TOS Enterprise Model." :roll:

Is there a conversion matrix somewhere so we can do this?

Anyone?
patrickivan
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Post by patrickivan »