2015 No Looping image rule

Forum rules, site updates and general news.
Xen
Bear with me
Bear with me

2015 No Looping image rule

Postby Xen » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:26 am

I've noticed one rule in particular keeps being broken. It was added in 2015, so I'm uncertain why.

That rule being "no looping images or GIF's".

If an animated image can 'play' just once, i'm fine with that. Others, might not.

However, ideally, I don't want animated images on AST because they can't be blocked visitors (to the best of my knowledge), such as non-members or not-logged-in members.

Looping images are a problem for myself that have OCD, but also if you're using small devices. I had one guy report that he didn't like AST because it aggravated his epilepsy. I'm not a doctor, and have no wish to verify that. It would however, bother my conscience if my site was doing that to people suffering from any number of medical conditions.

AST is about sci-fi, starships and fun, not the hassles of real life.

Having them as a link should be fine.

N.B. I have been putting on my Mod hat and turning images into links from around that time. I have had to do what I felt was best, but can appreciate that it might have bothered or bewildered folks, some of whom I respect a great deal.

I felt it was right to mention this and 'own up' to the moderating, so other members of the 'team' don't get any abuse.

Griffworks
Can-Do Captain
Can-Do Captain

Re: 2015 No Looping image rule

Postby Griffworks » Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:05 am

I don’t recall ever seeing any gifs anywhere on AST.
“And I looked, and behold a pale horse; and his name that sat on him was Death, and Hell followed with him.“

mophius
Crafty Captain
Crafty Captain

Postby mophius » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:53 pm

:oops: :imsorry:
There is no dark side of the moon really, matter of fact its all dark.

Imgur
Shapeways Shop

Kratok
Perhaps today IS a good day to model
Perhaps today IS a good day to model

Postby Kratok » Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:05 pm